Griquas secure Currie Cup status

Griquas claimed a 41-21 bonus-point win over SWD, while there were also wins for the Leopards and Valke in round seven of the 2015 Currie Cup qualifiers.

Following the Leopards’ bonus-point victory earlier in the day, Griquas knew they had to beat the SWD Eagles and score four tries in the process to finish top of the table.

The hosts didn’t have it all their way in the first half, though, as they trailed 14-12 at the break. Flyhalf Gerrit Smith kicked three penalty goals and scored a try for the visitors. Eighthman Carel Greeff and outside centre Michael van der Spuy went over for Griquas but Gouws Prinsloo could only add one of the two conversions.

The side from Kimberley lifted their game in the second stanza and got the intended third and fourth tries soon after the resumption. Wing Ntabeni Dukisa and Greeff scored within minutes of each other as Griquas took an unassailable lead. SWD did add to their tally when outside centre Luzuko Vulindlu crossed, but a further penalty by Prinsloo coupled with two more tries were enough to ensure Griquas will compete in the 2015 edition of the Currie Cup.

Earlier, the Leopards outscored the Border Bulldogs five tries to one to secure a resounding 33-8 victory. The Leopards held a slender 14-5 advantage at the halfway mark, but restricted Border to a single penalty in the second half before adding three more scores to wrap up the result. But in the end even the bonus-point win wasn’t enough to grant them admission into the Currie Cup.

And on Friday, the Valke rounded off their qualifying campaign with an enthralling 57-41 win against the Griffons at the Barnard Stadium in Kempton Park. The winners scored nine of the 15 tries in the match, including a brace apiece by outside centre Grant Janke and wing Coert Cronjé. For the Griffons, wing Alvin Brandt and lock Johan van der Hoogt shone with two tries each.

Griquas (41) – Tries: Carel Greeff (2), Michael van der Spuy, Ntabeni Dukisa, AJ Coertzen, Martin Bezuidenhout. Conversions: Gouws Prinsloo (4). Penalty: Prinsloo.
SWD Eagles (21) – Tries: Gerrit Smith, Luzuko Vulindlu. Conversion: Smith. Penalties: Smith (3).

Border (8) – Try: Michael Makase. Penalty: Logan Basson.
Leopards (33) – Tries: Wian Fourie, Hanco Venter, Loftus Morrison, Johan Smith (2). Conversions: Adriaan Engelbrecht (3), Rhyno Smith.

Valke (57) – Tries: Jaun Kotzé, Grant Janke (2), Friedle Olivier, Anrich Richter, Kyle Hendricks, Ernst Ladendorf, Coert Cronjé (2). Conversions: Kotzé (6).
Griffons (41) – Tries: Enver Brandt, Johan van der Hoogt (2), Alvin Brandt (2), Nicky Steyn. Conversions: Louis Strydom (4). Penalty: Strydom.

Qualifier log

Photo: Louis Botha/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams