Gutsy Scots edge Argentina

Greig Laidlaw slotted an 84th-minute penalty as Scotland snatched a 19-16 win over Argentina in Edinburgh on Saturday.

In a thrilling match that saw momentum swing one way and then the next, Laidlaw looked to have cost his side a victory when he hit the post with what was a relatively regulation penalty attempt late in the game.

However, Argentina infringed at the breakdown once again some four minutes after normal time, with Laidlaw this time making no mistake from right in front of the posts.

Considering Scotland suffered a heartbreaking one-point loss to the Wallabies last weekend, they would have been thrilled to this time come up on the winning side in the most dramatic fashion.

Very little had separated the sides during a scrappy first half where Argentina’s ambitious attack was pitted against the determined defence of Scotland.

Laidlaw initially kicked the hosts into a 6-0 lead, but Argentina importantly drew three points back just before the break as Nicolás Sánchez finally converted some pressure into points.

The contest looked to have swayed in the Pumas’ favour when a beautiful cross-kick provided the opportunity for centre Matías Orlando to dot down, but Scotland hit back almost immediately when Sean Maitland scored in the corner.

The drama continued as Sánchez and Laidlaw then traded penalties, but it would be the latter who secured a famous victory for the Scots with the final play of the game.

Scotland – Try: Sean Maitland. Conversion: Greig Laidlaw. Penalties: Laidlaw (4).
Argentina – Try: Matías Orlando. Conversion: Nicolás Sánchez. Penalties: Sánchez (3)

Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c) 8 John Barclay, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Magnus Bradbury, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Allan Dell.
Subs: 16 Ross Ford, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Moray Low, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Ryan Wilson, 21 Ali Price, 22 Pete Horne, 23 Tim Visser.

Argentina – 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Matías Moroni, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Facundo Isa, 7 Javier Ortega Desio, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Lucas Noguera.
Subs: 16 Julián Montoya, 17 Santiago García Botta, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Leonardo Senatore, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 23 Santiago Cordero.

Photo: Ian MacNicol/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis