Heaslip in as Irish shuffle pack

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has opted for experience, making seven changes to his side for the second Test against Argentina.

Jamie Heaslip will start at No 8 in place of Jordi Murphy, who drops to the bench. Elsewhere in the pack, Leinster flank Rhys Ruddock will make his first start for Ireland in place of Robbie Diack. Diack is likely to feel aggrieved, having failed to make the squad despite a solid showing in the first Test. 

Devin Toner makes a return to the second row, while Dave Kilcoyne will slot in at prop.

Amongst the backs, the experienced Rob Kearney will start at fullback, while Fergus McFadden gets a shot at Brian O'Driscoll's famed number 13 jersey, with Darren Cave switching to inside centre.

In one final change, Eoin Reddan gets a crack at the scrumhalf berth in place of Conor Murray.

The starting XV boasts a total of 565 caps between them, as opposed to 366 last Saturday.

Ireland – 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Fergus McFadden, 12 Darren Cave, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Eoin Reddan, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Chris Henry, 6 Rhys Ruddock, 5 Paul O'Connell (c), 4 Devin Toner, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best,1 Dave Kilcoyne.
Subs: 16 Rob Herring, 17 James Cronin, 18 Jack McGrath, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Jordi Murphy, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Noel Reid.

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images