Twelve changes for All Blacks

Sam Cane will captain a new-look All Blacks against Namibia at London's Olympic Stadium on Thursday.

There are 12 changes to the starting lineup that featured against Argentina on Sunday, with wingers Nehe Milner-Skudder and Julian Savea the only players retaining their place in the backline, which sees TJ Perenara and Beauden Barrett combining at halfback.

Meanwhile, Sam Whitelock is the only member of the pack who keeps his starting berth for the All Blacks’ second match of the World Cup, with Cane standing in for the rested Richie McCaw as skipper.

‘At the completion of this match, 30 of the 31 players in our squad will have experienced time in the middle,’ coach Steven Hansen commented. ‘That will give us a good foundation base going forward and was always part of our planning pre-tournament. It's now their time to step up.’

All Blacks – 15 Colin Slade, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Victor Vito, 7 Sam Cane (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Ben Franks.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Tony Woodcock, 19 Kieran Read, 20 Richie McCaw, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Ma'a Nonu, 23 Ben Smith.

Photo: BackpagePix

Post by