Ikeys stay in Varsity Cup

UCT scored six tries to beat UWC 40-5 in their Varsity Cup promotion-relegation match in Stellenbosch on Monday. TYRONE ENGEL reports.

Ikeys scored three tries to lead 23-5 at half-time and then defended well to keep UWC at bay in the second half while adding three more tries to retain their place in the Varsity Cup.

Flank Alva Senderayi opened the scoring for UCT with a five-point try as he stretched over to dot down under the poles. UCT scored two more tries through hooker Keagan Timm and centre Lihleli Xoli. The latter burst through two defenders to complete a nine-point try that gave his side a 23-0 lead after 27 minutes.

UWC scored their first points on the stroke of half-time as centre Lubabalo Faleni powered his way over the line for a five-point try, but they still trailed by 18 points.

Both sides were reduced to 14 players at different times during the second half because of yellow cards but neither was unable to take advantage of the extra man. In fact, UCT scored while they were down to 14 when scrumhalf Dylan-Lee Tidbury secured the first points of the second half after a fumble from UWC.

UCT scored their fifth try when flank Luke Stringer picked up a loose ball and went over in the 73rd mimute. Replacement centre Robert Anderson added the extras before scoring a try of his own after the full-time hooter to seal the victory.

UCT – Tries: Alva Senderayi, Keagan Timm, Lihlei Xoli, Dylan-Lee Tidbury, Luke Stringer, Robert Anderson. Conversions: Thomas Bednall (2), Anderson.
UWC – Try: Lubabalo Faleni. 

UCT – 15 Gerard Pieterse, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 13 Sebastian Roodt, 12 Lihleli Xoli, 11 Bradley Janse van Rensburg, 10 Thomas Bednall, 9 Dylan Tidbury, 8 Mark Prior, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Alva Senderayi, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Jade Kriel, 3 Samuel Shaer-Theron, 2 Keagan Timm, 1 Joel Carew.

Subs: 16 Sean Paterson, 17 Msizi Zondi, 18 Olwethu Hans, 19 Duncan Saffy, 20 Stephen Wallace, 21 Robert Anderson, 22 Kofi Appiah, 23 Jayson Landman.

UWC – 15 Darian Hock, 14 Minenhle Mthethwa, 13 Monre Lingeveldt, 12 Lubabalo Faleni, 11 Gordon-Wayne Plaatjes, 10 Aidynn Cupido, 9 Clayton Daniels, 8 Matthew Faught, 7 Jeremy Papier, 6 Philbrey Joseph (c), 5 José Julies, 4 Brandon Valentyn, 3 Tahriq Allen, 2 Peter Wanjiru, 1 Wayrin Losper.
Subs: 16 Keenan Douw, 17 Kelvin de Bruyn, 18 Matthew le Roux, 19 Vernon Treu, 20 Matthew Nortje, 21 Courtney Cupido, 22 Marcus Kleinbooi, 23 Robin Paulse.

Photo: Thy Lombard