Ioane starts as New Zealand power up for Ireland

Rieko Ioane will start for New Zealand as the All Blacks have returned to a strongest possible lineup for the clash with Ireland in Dublin on Saturday.

The forwards pack which ran out against Wales two weeks ago has been retained, with the front row of Joe Moody, Codie Taylor and Nepo Laulala.

Sam Whitelock captains the team and forms an experienced second-row combination with Brodie Retallick.

In the loose forwards, Ethan Blackadder is at blindside flank, Dalton Papalii is at openside, while Ardie Savea plays No 8.

Dane Coles comes in as reserve hooker, alongside fellow reserves props Karl Tu’inukuafe and Tyrel Lomax, lock Tupou Vaa’i and loose forward Akira Ioane.

In the backs, TJ Perenara is at halfback, with Beauden Barrett at 10, while Anton Lienert-Brown moves to No 12 and Rieko Ioane is at outside centre. Sevu Reece is on the left wing, Will Jordan on the right and Jordie Barrett is at fullback.

Halfback Finlay Christie, flyhalf Richie Mo’unga and David Havili are the back reserves.

New Zealand – 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Sevu Reece, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Dalton Papalii, 6 Ethan Blackadder, 5 Sam Whitelock (c), 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody.
Subs: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Karl Tu’inukuafe, 18 Tyrel Lomax, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Akira Ioane, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Richie Mo’unga, 23 David Havili.

Photo: Marty Melville/AFP/Getty Images

Post by

Dylan Jack