Ireland’s best to face Wallabies

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has selected a strong squad for their three-Test series against the Wallabies in Australia this June.

Schmidt decided not to rest his frontline players, with the likes of Conor Murray, Johnny Sexton and CJ Stander all set to make the trip Down Under.

Ireland have beaten the Wallabies in three of their last four meetings, but last won in Australia in 1979.

The three Tests will be played in Brisbane (9 June), Melbourne (16 June) and Sydney (23 June).

Ireland squad: 

Forwards: Tadhg Beirne, Rory Best (c), Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Iain Henderson, Rob Herring, Dan Leavy, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy, Peter O’Mahony, Andrew Porter, Quinn Roux, James Ryan, John Ryan, CJ Stander, Devin Toner.

Backs: Bundee Aki, Ross Byrne, Joey Carbery, Andrew Conway, John Cooney, Keith Earls, Robbie Henshaw, Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Kieran Marmion, Conor Murray, Garry Ringrose, Johnny Sexton, Jacob Stockdale.