Jantjies at 10 for Lions

Elton Jantjies will start at flyhalf for the Lions in their first tour match against the Chiefs in Hamilton on Saturday.

Marnitz Boshoff makes way for Jantjies, who will start just his second game of the season. Jantjies has cut a forlorn figure at times during the Super Rugby campaign, but will get his chance to shine in what should be an open game of rugby. In the only other backline change Deon van Rensburg will make a return to the right wing.

In the forwards, Warren Whiteley has made a full recovery from injury and will lead the side from the back of the scrum.

Meanwhile, there are 14 changes to the Chiefs team, with nine of them in the starting XV.

Hooker Nathan Harris and prop Josh Hohneck get their first starts of the season while Tanerau Latimer moves into the No 6 jersey. Tawera Kerr-Barlow is the starting scrumhalf with James Lowe getting his first start on the wing since returning from injury. Tom Marshall comes in at inside centre and is joined in the midfield by Charlie Ngatai. Dwayne Sweeney starts on the right wing. Tim Nanai-Williams moves from the wing back to fullback.

In the five changes to the bench, Mahonri Schwalger moves to the reserves and is joined by Ben Tameifuna for the first time this season. Mike Fitzgerald, Andrew Horrell and Bundee Aki all make up the new additions to the bench.

Chiefs –15 Tim Nanai-Williams, 14 Dwayne Sweeney, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Tom Marshall, 11 James Lowe, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Liam Messam (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Tanerau Latimer, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Ross Filipo, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Subs: 16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Jamie Mackintosh, 18 Ben Tameifuna, 19 Matt Symons, 20 Michael Fitzgerald, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Bundee Aki, 23 Andrew Horrell.

Lions – 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Martin Muller, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 MB Lusaseni, 20 Willie Britz, 21 Ross Cronjé, 22 Marnitz Boshoff, 23 JW Jonker.

Super Rugby teams (Round 12)

Photo: Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

Post by