Jones picks two Saffas for England

Don Armand and Nick Schonert have been included in England's 32-man squad for their two Test-series against Argentina in June.

With 15 England players on duty with the British & Irish Lions, coach Eddie Jones has selected a youthful touring group, which includes 17 uncapped players.

Armand, a former Western Province and Stormers flank, scooped up the Man of the Match award in last Saturday's Premiership final, and has been outstanding for the Exeter Chiefs throughout the season.

The 25-year-old Schonert is an ex-Cheetahs, Griquas and Sharks prop. He also represented the Junior Boks at the U20 Championship in 2011.

Both Armand and Schonert are products of Maritzburg College in KwaZulu-Natal.

Piers Francis, who has been a revelation at flyhalf for the Blues in Super Rugby this year, was also rewarded with a call-up to the squad.

Meanwhile, Daniel Hourcade has named four uncapped players – Bautista Ezcurra, Emiliano Boffelli, Felipe Arregui and Gonzalo Bertranou – in Argentina's 32-man squad for the series. 

Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro and Tomás Lavanini are also back, after missing Argentina's November Tests due to injury.

England squad – Don Armand, Will Collier, Ben Curry, Tom Curry, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Dylan Hartley (c), Nathan Hughes, Nick Isiekwe, Joe Launchbury, Matt Mullan, Chris Robshaw, Nick Schonert, Tommy Taylor, Sam Underhill, Harry Williams, Mark Wilson, Mike Brown, Danny Care, Joe Cokanasiga, Ollie Devoto, Nathan Earle, George Ford, Piers Francis, Sam James, Alex Lozowski, Harry Mallinder, Jack Maunder, Jonny May, Henry Slade, Denny Solomona, Marland Yarde.

Argentina squad – Matías Alemanno, Felipe Arregui, Rodrigo Baez, Agustín Creevy (c), Santiago Garcia Botta, Ramiro Herrera, Tomás Lavanini, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Tomás Lezana, Benjamín Macome, Pablo Matera, Julían Montoya, Lucas Noguera, Javier Ortega Desio, Guido Petti, Enrique Pieretto, Leonardo Senatore, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Gonzalo Bertranou, Emiliano Boffelli, Santiago Cordero, Jerónimo de la Fuente, Bautista Ezcurra, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Juan Martín Hernández, Martín Landajo, Manuel Montero, Matias Moroni, Ramiro Moyano, Matías Orlando, Nicolás Sánchez, Joaquín Tuculet.

Photo: Romain Perrocheau/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams