Jones unveils first England team

George Ford and Owen Farrell will start as England’s 10-12 axis against Scotland at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Danny Care has been picked at scrumhalf, with Jonathan Joseph slotting in at outside centre. Jack Nowell and Anthony Watson are on the wings, while Mike Brown will wear the No 15 jersey.

In the pack, former skipper Chris Robshaw starts at blindside flank, with James Haskell and Billy Vunipola completing the loose trio.

The tight five sees George Kruis and Joe Launchbury pairing up in the second row, while Dan Cole, Dylan Hartley and Joe Marler make up an experienced front row.

‘There were some tight calls on selection, but we have picked a match-day squad with a blend of experience and youth,’ coach Eddie Jones said. ‘The boys have worked hard since coming into camp to understand how I want the team to play going forward. We have prepared well and I am pleased with the progress the group has made in the short time we’ve had together.

‘We have named three vice-captains in Owen Farrell, Billy Vunipola and Mike Brown, who will support Dylan Hartley with his leadership responsibilities,’ Jones added.

England 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Jack Nowell, 10 George Ford, 9 Danny Care, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 James Haskell, 6 Chris Robshaw, 5 George Kruis, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Joe Marler.
Subs: 16 Jamie George, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Paul Hill, 19 Courtney Lawes, 20 Jack Clifford, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Alex Goode, 23 Ollie Devoto.

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis