Jonker, Kaplan disagree on penalty try

Marius Jonker says he made the right call when awarding the Sharks a penalty try at Newlands, but former Test referee Jonathan Kaplan disagrees.

The Stormers were leading 10-3 after 45 minutes when Cobus Reinach reached out to place the ball over the tryline, only for it to be knocked out of his hands by Siya Kolisi's foot. The Stormers flanker had come across to defend and appeared to place his left foot where the ball was going to be grounded.

Jonker, the TMO, told referee Mike Fraser that Kolisi had kicked the ball out of Reinach's hands and recommended a penalty try and a yellow card.

According to Jonker, it’s irrelevant whether Kolisi intended to kick the ball or not.

'The rule does not deal with what a player’s intention was. If his foot did not make contact with the ball, then a try would in all likelihood have been scored. You also can’t award a penalty try if the incident does not warrant a yellow card,' Jonker told Netwerk24.

However, Kaplan questioned the decision on Twitter.

'If you look at the incident, it is clear Kolisi's action is not intentional. It's questionable whether his action is actually a kick at all.

'Does the TMO look at intention or is he interested in the outcome? And is that the correct philosophy in the first place? Surely it is in the best interests of the game to be able to take a view on intention? It would appear rough justice to card an accident!'

Kaplan added that Reinach, who was held in the tackle, had used his arm to propel himself forward.

'So, in essence, no card, no try, penalty to Stormers. Happy to argue this on any forum.'

Post by