• ‘Joubert not thrown under bus’

    CEO Brett Gosper says World Rugby were aiming to clarify Craig Joubert's controversial penalty when it issued a statement.

    The South African referee awarded a late penalty for accidental offside that Bernard Foley kicked to give the Wallabies a 35-34 win in their World Cup quarter-final.

    World Rugby was then criticised for issuing a statement saying Joubert had got it wrong and should have awarded a scrum instead.

    'We made a clarification,' Gosper told the media at the World Rugby Awards on Sunday. 'If there's any regret, it's the perception we may have thrown him [Joubert] under a bus, which certainly wasn't our intent. There were questions asked around TMO protocol at the time – could you use it, could you not use it?

    'It was normal for us to go on and talk about the incident itself, in a transparent way. It was normal for us to then say there was a mistake made.

    'Craig Joubert is a world-class referee, he continues to be one of our top referees. Referees, like players, make mistakes. That was one. The perception was not where we would have perhaps liked it.'

    Post by

    Simon Borchardt