Kings chop and change

Coach Deon Davids has made four changes to the Kings' starting lineup ahead of Saturday's clash against the Reds in Brisbane.

Fullback Malcolm Jaer, who scored a hat-trick against the Force last week, sustained a knee injury in training this week, ruling him out for the remainder of the Kings' tour of Australia. Team doctor Konrad von Hagen confirmed Jaer will return home to see a specialist in Port Elizabeth.

Jaer's place in the team is taken by Masixole Banda.

David's has also made three rotational changes to the pack. Loosehead prop Chris Heiberg, lock Mzwanele Zito and flank Tyler Paul all earn starting berths at the expense of Schalk van der Merwe, Irne Herbst and Andisa Ntsila.

'At this stage of the tournament it becomes important that you manage the load of the players effectively,' said Davids.

'It’s been a tough week for us, with the players suffering from sore bodies, bumps and bruises as a result of the tough encounter against Force last week. Therefore, we need to rotate our players in certain positions, which is what we have done.'

Kings – 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Lionel Cronje (c), 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Justin Forwood, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Chris Heiberg.
Subs: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19 Irne Herbst, 20 Andisa Ntsila, 21 Johan Steyn, 22 Wandile Mjekevu, 23 Pieter-Steyn de Wet.

Super Rugby teams (Round 8)

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams