Van der Merwe at loosehead for Kings

Coach Deon Davids has made one change to the Kings' run-on XV for Saturday's showdown with the Sharks in Port Elizabeth.

Following the Kings' 41-point dismantling of the Rebels a fortnight ago, Davids has opted for continuity by making just one injury-enforced change to the front row. Schalk van der Merwe starts at loosehead prop in place of Justin Forwood, who has been ruled out for the rest of the season due to a serious knee injury.

Kurt Haupt is bracketed with Tango Balekile on the bench, with Chris Heiberg and Lubabalo Mtyanda also among the replacements.

Kings – 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Lionel Cronjé (c), 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Andisa Ntsila, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Irne Herbst, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Justin Forwood.
Subs: 16 Kurt Haupt/Tango Balekile, 17 Chris Heiberg 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Stefaan Willemse, 21 Johan Steyn, 22 Nicolaas Hanekom, 23 Pieter-Steyn de Wet.

Super Rugby teams (Round 12)

Photo: Michael Sheehan/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams