Kings stars to join Bok camp

Kings players Chris Cloete, Andisa Ntsila, Lionel Cronjé and Makazole Mapimpi have been invited to the third Springbok training camp in Johannesburg.

At the conclusion of the camp, which will run from 21 to 23 May, the Springbok squad of 31 players for the three-Test series against France in June will be announced. The 26-man SA A squad for matches against the French Barbarians will also be named.

The latest training camp forms part of the Springboks’ final preparation plans for the upcoming international season, and will give Allister Coetzee one last chance to have a close look at several candidates before the first Bok squad of the year is named.

No players from the Cheetahs were included as they are on tour in New Zealand, while as was the case with the first two camps, there are also no overseas-based players among the training squad, adhering to regulation nine of World Rugby.

'There are again some new faces in the wider group who have shown consistently good form during Super Rugby, and the coaches are looking forward to continue with our preparations with the group,' Coetzee commented. 'They are knocking hard on the door and will be in contention comes squad selection.

'We will announce the Springbok and SA A squads after the camp and I can honestly say that there are still a number of positions up for grabs.'

During their three-day stay in Johannesburg, the players will undergo medical and conditioning assessments, attend gym and have a couple of field training sessions.

The SA ‘A’ squad will take on the French Barbarians in two matches, in Durban on 16 June and in Johannesburg on 23 June. They will assemble on Wednesday 7 June in Durban.

Springbok training squad:

Forwards – Ruan Botha (Sharks), Chris Cloete (Southern Kings), Lood de Jager (Bulls), Ruan Dreyer (Lions), Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks), Thomas du Toit (Sharks) Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Lizo Gqoboka (Bulls), Siya Kolisi (Stormers), Jaco Kriel (Lions), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers), Franco Mostert (Lions), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers), Andisa Ntsila (Southern Kings), Trevor Nyakane (Bulls), Coenie Oosthuizen (Sharks), Chiliboy Ralepelle (Sharks), Warren Whiteley  (Lions).

Backs – Lukhanyo Am (Sharks), Andries Coetzee (Lions), Lionel Cronje (Southern Kings), Ross Cronje (Lions), Damian de Allende (Stormers), Dewaldt Duvenage (Stormers), Warrick Gelant (Bulls), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Jesse Kriel (Bulls), Pat Lambie (Sharks), Dillyn Leyds (Stormers), Makazole Mapimpi (Southern Kings), Lionel Mapoe (Lions), Jan Serfontein (Bulls), Courtnall Skosan (Lions), Jano Vermaak (Stormers), Harold Vorster (Lions).

Photo: Richard Huggard/Gallo Images

Post by