Kiwi flank in Scotland squad

Scotland coach Vern Cotter has named four uncapped players in his Six Nations squad, including New Zealand-born flank Hugh Blake.

The 22-year-old's selection comes as a major surprise as he is yet to appear for Edinburgh since arriving from Otago in December.

He will be joined in the 32-man squad by fellow uncapped club-mates, scrumhalf Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, lock Ben Toolis and back rower Hamish Watson, all of whom have yet to feature at international level.

Gloucester scrumhalf Greig Laidlaw will once again lead the team, while there is no place for experienced campaigners Kelly Brown and Chris Cusiter.

Among those unavailable through injury are Cotter's first captain Grant Gilchrist, Adam Ashe, who was the first-choice No 8 in the November Tests, and flyhalf Duncan Weir.

Scotland squad:

Forwards – Hugh Blake, Fraser Brown, Blair Cowan, Geoff Cross, David Denton, Alasdair Dickinson, Jonny Gray, Richie Gray, Ross Ford, Jim Hamilton, Rob Harley, Euan Murray, Gordon Reid, Alasdair Strokosch, Ben Toolis, Hamish Watson, Jon Welsh.

Backs – Mark Bennett, Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Alex Dunbar, Dougie Fife, Stuart Hogg, Peter Horne, Greig Laidlaw (c), Sean Lamont, Sean Maitland, Henry Pyrgos, Finn Russell, Matt Scott, Tommy Seymour, Greig Tonks, Tim Visser.

Photo: Rob Jefferies/Getty Images