Kolisi, Am up for multiple Players’ Choice awards

Springbok captain Siya Kolisi and centre Lukhanyo Am are among those nominated for the fifth annual BrightRock Players’ Choice Awards for their excellent performances in the 2021 season.

All nominations for The BrightRock Players’ Choice Awards were compiled by the MyPlayers board, their trustees and player representatives, and the winners will be selected by the players.

For the annual awards, the winners in the six different categories will be decided by votes from South Africa’s professional players themselves and the winners will be announced during a virtual awards ceremony on 23 September. 

Fans will be able to watch the festivities on SuperSport channel 200 that same day at 8pm. The Players’ Choice awards ceremony will be held earlier this year, as the United Rugby Championship will mark the start of the new season.

Rugby lovers will be happy to hear that the Fans’ Choice Award is back this year and fans can vote for their favourite player via an online poll. The nominees for this award are Springbok Womens’ captain Babalwa Latsha, Bulls captain Duane Vermeulen, Western Province back Damian Willemse and Bulls flyhalf Morne Steyn.

The winner of the Fans’ Choice Award will receive R30,000 to donate to a charity of their choice.

The winner in each category also earns the charity of their choice a R5,000 donation, funded from the players’ collective commercial rights income and managed by MyPlayers.

Kolisi, who captained the Springboks to a series win over the British & Irish Lions, has been nominated for the 2021 Forward Player of the Year and Players’ Player of the Year awards.

Outside centre Am, who has been at the hearbeat of the Springboks’ excellent attacking and defensive displays, has been nominated for Defender of the Year and joins his captain as a nominee for Players’ Player of the Year.

Another exciting addition this year, is the nomination of two members of the Women’s Springbok team, Lusanda Dumke and Babalwa Latsha. Their inclusion is particularly fitting with the nominees being announced during Women’s Month.

Here are the nominees for the fifth Annual BrightRock Players’ Choice Awards 2021:

2021 Forward Player of the Year 

Siya Kolisi (Springboks, Sharks)
Franco Mostert (Springboks)
Evan Roos (Western Province)
Eben Etzebeth (Springboks)

Backline Player of the Year

Selvyn Davids (Blitzboks)
Damian de Allende (Springboks)
Edwill van der Merwe (Western Province)
Eduan Keyter (Griquas)

Defender of the Year

Lukhanyo Am (Springboks, Sharks)
Marco van Staden (Springboks, Bulls)
Ruan Nortje (Bulls)
Branco du Preez (Blitzboks)

Best off the Bench

Trevor Nyakane (Springboks, Bulls)
Malcolm Marx (Springboks)
Vincent Koch (Springboks)
Grant Williams (Sharks)

LoveChange Most Improved Player

Jaden Hendrikse (Sharks)
Evan Roos (Western Province)
Jasper Wiese (Springboks)
Lusanda Dumke (Springbok Women, Border)

Fans’ Choice Award

Babalwa Latsha (Springbok Women)
Duane Vermeulen (Springboks, Bulls)
Damian Willemse (Springboks, Western Province)
Morne Steyn (Springboks, Bulls)

Players’ Player of the Year

Siya Kolisi (Springboks, Sharks)
Damian de Allende (Springboks)
Cheslin Kolbe (Springboks)
Franco Mostert (Springboks)
Eben Etzebeth (Springboks)
Lukhanyo Am (Springboks, Sharks)
Photo: Richard Huggard/Gallo Images

Post by

Dylan Jack