Kriel free to face Jaguares

Lions flank Jaco Kriel has received no further punishment for his late tackle on Stormers flyhalf Rob du Preez that resulted in a yellow card.

A Sanzaar judicial committee hearing found Kriel not guilty of contravening Law 10.4(o) Late charging the kicker, after he was cited during the match at Newlands. The incident occurred in the 26th minute.

In his finding, the judicial committee chairman André Oosthuizen ruled the following: 'Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence, including from the player and submissions from his legal representative, Frikkie Erasmus, the judicial committee concluded that the red card threshold had not been met to satisfy the citing and that the on-field yellow card was sufficient.

'The judicial committee found that the player came into contact with the opposing flyhalf in the course of the player attempting to charge down, that his action did not amount to an intentional late charge or obstruction and accordingly had not committed a transgression of Law 10.4(o). The player is therefore free to resume playing.'

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt