Laidlaw to lead Scots into battle

Scrumhalf Greig Laidlaw will captain Scotland in their Six Nations opener against France in Paris on Saturday.

Laidlaw, playing in his 34th Test, will form a halfback partnership with Glasgow Warriors flyhalf Finn Russell, who'll be starting his first Six Nations match at the Stade de France.

The squad boasts a mix between youth and experience, with the latter coming in the front row in the form of Alasdair Dickinson, Ross Ford and Euan Murray. Between them, the trio boast 181 international caps.

The starting team features just two changes to that which defeated Tonga 37-12 in the final November Test.

Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlw (c), 8 Johnnie Beattie, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Subs: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Jim Hamilton, 20 Alasdair Strokosch, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Peter Horne, 23 Dougie Fife.

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images