Last chance for Olympic hopefuls

The Blitzboks will have one final opportunity to impress coach Neil Powell before he names his 12-man squad for the Olympic Games in Rio.

The preliminary 19-man Springbok Sevens squad will compete against Kenya, Zimbabwe, an invitational Namibian team, an invitational Western Province team and the SA Academy Sevens side in the top tier of the Assupol Sevens tournament in Stellenbosch from 1-2 July.

The event also features a second-tier section with 16 local club teams competing for a trophy of their own.

Powell was pleased to have the tournament in Stellenbosch, saying it fits nicely with his side's preparations for Rio.

'The fact that it is held here in Stellenbosch means we don't have to travel anywhere, which suits us perfectly. We need some quality opponents in match conditions as part of our prep, so it will be ideal for us. This will no doubt help us in our final push towards the Olympic Games.'

Preliminary Olympics Springbok Sevens squad: Tim Agaba, Chris Dry, Ryan Kankowski, Kwagga Smith, Kyle Brown, Philip Snyman, Dylan Sage, Cheslin Kolbe, Rosco Speckman, Branco du Preez, Cecil Afrika, Justin Geduld, Francois Hougaard, Juan de Jongh, Werner Kok, Ruhan Nel, Seabelo Senatla, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Bryan Habana.

Photo: Roger Sedres/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams