Les Bleus stick with Spedding

South African-born Scott Spedding has been included in France's 32-man Six Nations squad.

French Rugby Federation president Bernard Laporte announced in December last year that France will no longer select non-French players for its national team, but already capped players such as Spedding will not be affected.

Meanwhile, a surprise inclusion is that of Toulouse centre Yann David, who last played for Les Bleus in 2009. 

France squad:

Forwards – Uini Atonio, Cyril Baille, Eddy Ben Arous, Mohamed Boughanmi, Camille Chat, Damien Chouly, Loann Goujon, Kevin Gourdon, Guilhem Guirado, Arthur Iturria, Raphaël Lakafia, Julien Le Devedec, Yoann Maestri, Clément Maynadier, Louis Picamoles, Fabien Sanconnie, Rabah Slimani, Sébastien Vahaamahina.

Backs – Djibril Camara, Yann David, Jean-Marc Doussain, Gaël Fickou, Wesley Fofana, Yoann Huget, Rémi Lamerat Camille Lopez, Maxime Machenaud, Noa Nakaitaci, Geoffrey Palis, Baptiste Serin, Scott Spedding, Virimi Vakatawa. 

Photo: Jean Catuffe/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams