Lions chop and change

Lock Lourens Erasmus will earn his first start in one of six changes to the Lions run-on XV for Saturday's match against the Jaguares in Johannesburg.

As has been the case for most of the season, the changes made by coach Johan Ackermann for this game are rotational. 

Erasmus replaces Ruan Ackermann at No 4 lock, while front-rowers Akker van der Merwe and Corné Fourie swap with Malcolm Marx and Dylan Smith, who both drop to the bench. In the back row, Warwick Tecklenburg is given a rest and Cyle Brink starts in his place at openside flank.

In the backline, scrumhalf Faf de Klerk gets the nod ahead of Ross Cronjé and Howard Mnisi returns at inside centre ahead of Rohan Janse van Rensburg.

Lions – 15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Lourens Erasmus, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Corné Fourie.
Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Ruan Ackermann, 20 Warwick Tecklenburg, 21 Ross Cronjé, 22 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 23 Sylvian Mahuza.

Super Rugby teams (Round 13)

Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackPage Pix

Post by

Mariette Adams