Lions bash Blue Bulls

The Golden Lions thrashed the Blue Bulls 40-19 on the opening day of the U16 Grant Khomo Week in Oudtshoorn on Monday.

The Lions forwards dominated the Blue Bulls up front, which ultimately laid the foundation for the victory over their provincial neighbours. The Johannesburg side scored two tries in the first 23 minutes for a 14-0 lead. The Blue Bulls hit back with a five-pointer a few minutes later, but this was cancelled out by the Lions' third try on the stroke of half-time for a healthy 21-7 advantage.

They continued to breach the Bulls defence and ran in three more tries to take their total for the match to six. The boys from Pretoria crossed for two late five-pointers, but it didn't matter as the Lions were too far ahead.

In a close affair, Durin Nasson kicked a last-gasp penalty to hand Western Province a 25-24 win over Free State. Both sides went over for a try apiece in the opening half, but Nasson's first penalty pushed WP out to a 10-7 lead at the break. They went toe-to-toe again in the second stanza, adding two tries each, but an extra conversion and penalty put Free State in the ascendancy at 24-22 with just a few minutes left on the clock. When Free State infringed, Nasson held his nerve to slot the winning kick. 

Meanwhile, KwaZulu-Natal defeated Eastern Province 24-11 in a physical battle. Vaughen Isaacs' missed conversion saw EP trail 10-8 at half-time. KZN scored back-to-back converted tries early in the second half and led 24-8. Isaacs did add a penalty goal to get his side into double figures, but they were unable to add to that tally.

Elsewhere, Carlo Nortjé contributed 12 points (a try, two conversions and a penalty) as the Pumas edged SWD 27-22; the Valke withstood a second-half surge from Namibia to record a 31-27 win; Boland thrashed the Griffons 69-6; Border upset the SWD Eagles XV 32-14; the Limpopo Blue Bulls hammered Griquas Country Districts 50-17; Griquas narrowly beat Zimbabwe 20-17; and the Leopards blanked-out Border CD 27-0.

Golden Lions (40) – Tries: Brendon Buitendag (2), Yanga Hlalu (2), James Msimango, David Cary. Conversions: Kennedy Mpeku (5).
Blue Bulls (19) – Tries: Charles Goedhals, Bjorkan Hendricks, Tyrique Daniel Ferris. Conversions: Goedhals (2).

Western Province (25) – Tries: André Fourie, Angelo Davids (2). Conversions: Mogamat Karriem (2). Penalty: Durin Nasson (2).
Free State (24) – Tries: Christopher Schreuder, Andile Maxamba, Janco van Heyningen. Conversions: Dwayne Arendse (3). Penalty: Arendse.

KwaZulu-Natal (24) – Tries: Kamvelihle Fatyela, Cham Zondeki, Morné van Rensburg, JJ Van den Mescht. Conversions: Van Rensburg (2).
Eastern Province (11) –  Try: Curtly Deysel. Penalties: Vaughen Isaacs (2),

Pumas (27) – Tries: Sibusiso Madonsela, Riekert Barnard, Carlo Nortjé, Cornel Els. Conversions: Nortjé (2), Penalty: Nortjé.
SWD Eagles (22) – Tries: Dian Bleuler, JP Terblanche, Lyle Metembo. Conversions: Darryn Fortuin, James Mollentze. Penalty: Fortuin.

Valke (31) – Tries: Juandré Breytenbach (2), Ryno Pierre Louw, Mpho Ntsane, Quan Franklin Eymann. Conversions: Ruben Dylan Beytell (3).
Namibia (27) – Tries: Christiaan Hennig, Warren Ludwig, Gilad Plaatjies, Franco Opperman. Conversions: Delron Brandt (2). Penalty: Brandt.

Boland (69) – Tries: Jevan August (2), PJ Boltman (2), Handré Rupping (2), David du Preez, JC Lourens, Bradley Van Thora, Conan le Fleur, Mickey Goodal. Conversions: Lloyd April (7).
Griffons (6) – Penalties: Qhamani Kota (2).

Border (32) – Tries: Geoffrey Ross, Nicholas Holm, Damian Meyer, Jarred du Plessis (2). Conversions: David Coetzer (2). Penalty: Coetzer.
SWD Eagles XV (14) – Tries: Aylin Pretorius, Stephan Leonard. Conversions: Pietie Uys (2).

Limpopo Blue Bulls (50) – Tries: Noko Malatji (2), Carl Pieter du Plessis, Nyiko Ntlemo, Muzi Nyakane, Franco Oberholzer, Itumeleng Mononyane, Heini Ferreira. Conversions: Jonathan Viljoen (5).
Griquas CD (17) – Tries: Walla Walters, Erik Kies. Conversions: Iwan Lombard (2). Penalty: Lombard.

Griquas (20) – Tries: Ramon Sauls, Japheth Muzaza. Conversions: Charles Williams (2). Penalties: Williams (2).
Zimbabwe (17) – Tries: Prince Mupfurutsa, Tafadziswa Bunu, Chipo Mupeso. Conversion: Russel Biyason.

Leopards (26) – Tries: Llewellen Lubbe (2), Lubha Loyiso, André Fouché. Conversions: Sofilo Dlamini, Lubbe (2).
Border CD (0)

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams