Lions punish Pukke

The Lions won both their Super Rugby warm-up matches against the Leopards and Pukke in Kempton Park on Friday.

Game 1: Lions 31 Leopards 24

The first game saw the Lions tested by the visitors from Potchefstroom, before coming out seven-point victors.

First-half tries from Juan Swanepoel, Malcom Marx and Ruhan Nel gave the hosts a 19-3 lead at the break. They added another two in the second half to close out the game, with the Leopards scoring three of their own.

Lions – Tries: Juan Swanepoel (2), Malcolm Marx,  Ruhan Nel, Adriaan Engelbrecht. Conversions: Brendon Hewitt (2), Ruan van Rensburg.
Leopards – Tries: Jacques Vermaak, Molotsi Bouwer, Arno Eberson. Penalty: Warren Gilbert. Conversions: Gilbert, Tiaan Liebenberg (2).

Game 2: Lions 52 Pukke 14

The second game produced a bigger scoreline. After two tries from Stefan Watermeyer, followed by tries from Courtnall Skosan and JW Jonker, the Lions led 28-0 at half-time.

Despite letting in two tries, the second half was as successful for the Lions, who racked up another four tries.

Lions – Tries: Stefan Watermeyer (3), Courtnall Skosan, JW Jonker, Bees Roux, Ruaan Lerm, Lambert Groenewald. Conversions: Willie du Plessis (4), Jaco van der Walt (2).
Pukke – Tries: Gerhard Nortier, Sylvian Mahuza. Conversions: Tiaan Dorfling (2).

Lions (match 1) – 15 Kobus de Kock, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Adriaan Engelbrecht, 11 Juan Swanepoel, 10 Brendon Hewitt, 9. Ricky Schroeder, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Thabo Mamojele  6 Thabo Mabuza, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Lourence Erasmus, 3 Nico van Zyl, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tyson Mulamba.
Subs: 16 Mark Pretorius, 17 David Kounga, 18 Ruan Venter, 19 MB Lusaseni, 20 Stephan de Wit, 21 Stephan Vermuelen, 22 Jano Venter, 23 Guy Cronjé, 24 Ruan van Rensburg, 25 Carlisle Nel, 26 Robert de Bruyn, 27 Caswell Khoza, 28 Hanco Deale.

Lions (match 2) – 15 Coenie van Wyk, 14 Vainon Willis, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Francois de Klerk, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Derick Minnie (c), 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Corné Fourie, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Schalk van der Merwe
Subs: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Bees Roux, 19 Martin Muller, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Lambert Groenewald, 22 Ross Cronjé, 23 Jaco van der Walt, 24 Lionel Mapoe, 25 Deon van Rensburg, 26 Deon Helberg, 27 Alwyn Hollenbach, 28 Chrysander Botha.

Photo: Duif du Toit/Gallo Images