Lions rotate for must-win clash

Golden Lions coach Johan Ackermann has made five changes to his starting lineup for Friday's match against the Sharks in Johannesburg.

Loosehead prop Dylan Smith is the sole survivor from last week's run-on front row, as Ruan Dreyer takes over at tighthead from Julian Redelinghuis, who has joined the national squad. Robbie Coetzee starts at hooker ahead of Malcolm Marx, who is on the bench. 

Sticking with their rotation policy, fullback Andries Coetzee, inside centre Rohan Janse van Rensburg and scrumhalf Ross Cronjé come into the backline ahead of Sylvian Mahuza, Howard Mnisi and Dillon Smit.

Golden Lions – 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Koch Marx, 13 Jaques Nel, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Ruan Ackermann, 6 Kwagga Smith (c), 5 Bobby de Wee, 4 JP du Preez, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Dylan Smith.
Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Fabian Booysen, 19 Cyle Brink, 20 Dillon Smit, 21 Howard Mnisi, 22 Sylvian Mahuza.

Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

Post by