Mapoe at 13 for Boks

Lionel Mapoe will start at outside centre in the only change to the Springbok match 23 for the second Test against France at Kings Park on Saturday.

Mapoe replaces Jesse Kriel, who is unavailable after he suffered a blow to the head last Saturday at Loftus Versfeld.

Bok coach Allister Coetzee said he wanted to maintain continuity and build momentum.

'We kept changes to a minimum and one change to the squad means we can continue to work on our continuity, which is so important,' said Coetzee.

'This is a new group, so playing together again means that the important combinations are gaining more experience. It is also nice to reward good performances and all of them deserve another opportunity.'

Coetzee said the decision to select Mapoe next to Serfontein was an easy one.

'Jan Serfontein had a very good match at inside centre in Pretoria and we wanted a specialist at No 13 as replacement for Jesse, so Mapoe is a logical choice. It also means we’re preventing making two changes to the team,' said Coetzee.

The Bok coach expects France to increase their physicality and effort in the second Test.

'The forward battle will always be a very important part of the game,' said Coetzee.

'We know we will be up against a very well prepared French team in the second Test and we are readying ourselves for that. They would like to bounce back and we would like to continue with our processes. Both teams have a lot to too play for.

'Although not perfect, I’m pleased with the set pieces and expect a huge onslaught from the French in both areas. We created a number of scoring opportunities, which is a great positive, and hopefully our execution will be better this time.'

Springboks – 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Raymond Rhule, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
bs: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Coenie Ooshuizen, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Frans Steyn, 23 Dillyn Leyds.

France team

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt