McCaw back for All Blacks

Richie McCaw will captain the All Blacks in one of four changes for Saturday’s quarter-final against France in Cardiff.

McCaw missed last weekend’s final pool match against Tonga, but will take up his regular place at No 7 and assume the captaincy reins once again, with Sam Cane dropping to the bench.

In the other changes to the All Blacks’ starting lineup, Julian Savea takes over from Waisake Naholo on the left wing, Brodie Retallick replaces Luke Romano at No 4, while Wyatt Crockett comes in for injured Tony Woodcock at loosehead prop.

Just four days after arriving in the UK as the injury replacement for Woodcock, Joe Moody finds himself on a relatively new-look bench.

All Blacks – 15 Ben Smith, 14 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Subs: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Sam Cane, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Sonny Bill Williams.

Photo: Stu Forster/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis