McKenzie, Ardie in All Blacks squad

Chiefs fullback Damian McKenzie and Hurricanes flank Ardie Savea are among six uncapped players in New Zealand's 32-man squad for the Test series against Wales.

The others are Blues prop Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Highlanders loose forwards Elliot Dixon and Liam Squire, and Chiefs centre Seta Tamanivalu.

'Many people, including our opponents, may be thinking we’re vulnerable and are rebuilding,' said All Blacks coach Steve Hansen. 'However, we don’t have that mindset. We, as selectors, are very confident that we have both the talent and the experience to continue enhancing the legacy of the All Blacks.

'It’s often said that when the tall trees that cast the largest shadows are cut down, the remaining smaller trees grow more rapidly. We believe we’ll see players stand tall and take their game to a higher standard this season.

'This group of players, I can assure you, is very excited about the opportunities that lay ahead for them. They know it’s their time, their moment, and they can’t wait to make their mark in the jersey.'

The All Blacks squad assembled in Auckland on Sunday to prepare for the first Test against Wales in Auckland on Saturday, 11 June. The second Test is in Wellington on the 18th, and the third in Dunedin on the 25th.

All Blacks squad:

Forwards: Dane Coles, Codie Taylor, Nathan Harris, Wyatt Crockett, Charlie Faumuina, Owen Franks, Joe Moody, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Brodie Retallick, Luke Romano, Patrick Tuipulotu, Samuel Whitelock, Sam Cane, Elliot Dixon, Jerome Kaino, Kieran Read (c), Ardie Savea, Liam Squire.

Backs: Tawera Kerr–Barlow, Aaron Smith, Beauden Barrett, Aaron Cruden, Lima Sopoaga, Ryan Crotty, Malakai Fekitoa, Charlie Ngatai, Seta Tamanivalu, Israel Dagg, Damian McKenzie, Waisake Naholo, Julian Savea, Ben Smith.

Photo: Phil Walter/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt