McMahon at No 8 for Wallabies

Sean McMahon will start at No 8 for the Wallabies in the only change to the starting lineup for the Test against the Springboks in Pretoria on Saturday.

McMahon comes into the side for David Pocock, who has been ruled out of the tournament with an injured hand. The 22-year-old last started for the Wallabies in the third Test against England in June.

Coach Michael Cheika said McMahon may be the long-term answer at No 8. While Pocock should be fit for next month's clash with the All Blacks, he intends to take a sabbatical from rugby in 2017.

'There's definitely an opportunity [to be a long-term No.8],' Cheika told the Sydney Morning Herald. 'There's a few guys there that will be in the mix. Ben McCalman is getting some footy under his belt, Lopeti [Timani], there's a few other players that we've got our eye on, but at the moment he's playing in the Test so he's going to be the front-runner.'

Cheika will name his bench on Friday.

Wallabies – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Bernard Foley, 11 Reece Hodge, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Sean McMahon 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dean Mumm, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (c), 1 Scott Sio.
Subs: TBC.

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Jon Cardinelli