Palu back with Tahs

Wycliff Palu is set for a swansong with the Waratahs after re-signing for the 2016 season.

It was thought that the 33-year-old’s 57 Test career was over after he suffered a hamstring injury at last year's World Cup, with the bruising loose forward unable to take up his post-World Cup contract with Japan's Toyota Verblitz.

As a result, it presented the opportunity for the Waratahs to re-sign Palu, who has 121 Super Rugby caps to his name.

'I'm grateful for the opportunity,' Palu commented. 'They didn't have to take me on, they could have picked someone else, there's a lot of young players coming through.

'I'm the oldest now so that's a bit different. We're still doing a lot of the things we were doing before, still working hard, training hard. It's pretty exciting with the new coaches.'

Waratahs squad:
Forwards – Benn Robinson, Paddy Ryan, Jeremy Tilse, Angus Ta'avao, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Tolu Latu, Hugh Roach, Will Skelton, Dean Mumm, Sam Lousi, Dave Dennis, Jack Dempsey, Michael Hooper, Jed Holloway, Wycliff Palu, Brad Wilkin, Ned Hanigan.
Backs – Nick Phipps, Matt Lucas, Bernard Foley , Kurtley Beale, David Horowitz, Jim Stewart, Matt Carraro, Rob Horne, Zac Guildford, Andrew Kellaway, Reece Robinson, Israel Folau.
Photo: Matt King/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis