TJ Perenara has suggested it was ‘clear and obvious’ that the Hurricanes should have been awarded a penalty in the dying moments of Saturday’s semi-final against the Crusaders.
The Crusaders held on for a 30-26 win, but not before a controversial call by Nic Berry blighted what was a thrilling contest.
Needing a try to win, Hurricanes worked their way into the 22 late in the game. But as they edged closer to the line, Berry ruled that Perenara had knocked the ball on.
However, replays showed that the ball was dislodged from Perenara’s grasp by Crusaders captain Sam Whitelock at the breakdown.
By law, Whitelock should have been penalised for a cynical infringement. But because the neither the referee not his assistants picked up Whitelock’s effort, the call went against Perenara and the Hurricanes.
‘I guess it was pretty clear and obvious. We all probably know, we have seen it,’ Perenara said after the game.
‘We know it’s a penalty. The ref can’t see everything. He makes a call, and calls it a knock on.
‘Sometimes we expect a penalty, there, for a deliberate knock down; but it is what it is in a game of footy.’
Photo: Getty Images