Pietersen shifts to 10 for Sharks

Joe Pietersen will start at flyhalf when the Sharks take on Western Province in Durban on Saturday.

Pietersen, a former WP player, has played fullback since the start of the Currie Cup, but will now shift to flyhalf in place of Lionel Cronjé.

As a result of the move, Odwa Ndungane will start at fullback on his return from injury, while the rest of the backline remains unchanged.

In the pack, Jean-Luc du Preez earns a start at blindside flank in place of his injured twin brother Daniel, with Thomas du Toit returning to the more familiar position of loosehead prop, replacing Dale Chadwick.

Sharks – 15 Odwa Ndungane, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 Sibusiso Sithole, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Marco Wentzel (c), 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Gerhard Engelbrecht, 2 Monde Hadebe, 1 Thomas du Toit.
Subs: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 David McDuling, 19 Christiaan de Bruin, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Heimar Williams, 22 Garth April.

Photo: Michael Sheehan/BackpagePix

Post by

Craig Lewis