Blitzboks to face Aussies at Olympics

South Africa have been drawn with Australia in Pool B of the Olympic Games Sevens tournament.

The Blitzboks will also face France and Spain in the pool stage. The latter recently beat Samoa in the Monaco Sevens Cup final to claim the 12th and last place at the Olympics.

World Rugby Sevens Series champions Fiji will compete with Argentina, USA and hosts Brazil in Pool A, while there will be a fierce battle in Pool C between New Zealand, Great Britain, Kenya and Japan.

The top two teams from each pool, plus the two best third-placed sides, will progress to the quarter-finals.

2016 Rio Olympic Sevens Pools:

Pool A: Fiji, USA, Argentina, Brazil
Pool B: South Africa, Australia, France, Spain
Pool C: New Zealand, Great Britain, Kenya, Japan

Photo: Roger Sedres/Gallo Images