Powerful Lions squad for warm-ups

The Lions have announced a 45-man squad for their games against the Valke and Leopards in Kempton Park on Saturday.

The group will be divided into two teams, with No 8 Warren Whiteley set to captain in the first match against the Valke, which starts at 2:30pm at the Barnard Stadium. Flank Jaco Kriel will lead the team in the second encounter against the Leopards starting at 4:15pm. 

Coach Johan Ackermann has included the vast majority of his core Super Rugby squad, with the exception of Harold Vorster, Derick Minnie and Lionel Mapoe, who are all ruled out through injury.

The Lions start their Super Rugby campaign against the Sunwolves in Tokyo on 27 February.

Lions – Ruan Ackermann, JW Bell, Fabian Booysen, Marnitz Boshoff, Cyle Brink, Andries Coetzee, Robbie Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck, Ross Cronjé, Ashlon Davids, Faf de Klerk, Bobby de Wee, Stephan de Witt, Ruan Dreyer, Lourens Erasmus, Andries Ferreira, Corné Fourie, Stokkies Hanekom, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Elton Jantjies, Jaco Kriel (c), Robert Kruger, Ruan Lerm, MB Lusaseni, Kock Marx, Malcolm Marx, Sampie Mastriet, Howard Mnisi, Franco Mostert, Martin Muller, Jacques Nel, Julian Redelinghuys, Cameron Rooi, Jarryd Sage, Pieter Scholtz, Courtnall Skosan, Dillon Smit, Dylan Smith, Warwick Tecklenburg, Armand van der Merwe, Gerdus van der Walt, Jaco van der Walt, Jacques van Rooyen, Anthony Volmink, Warren Whiteley (c).

Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams