Province change one for Bulls

Western Province have made just one change for their Currie Cup match against the Blue Bulls at Newlands on Saturday.

Young hooker Stephan Coetzee replaces Tiaan Liebenburg in the front row after the latter was ruled out with a back injury.

With a number of players returning after lengthy lay-offs, coach Allister Coetzee has opted to introduce some new faces to his bench.

Prop Brok Harris (shoulder), lock Ruan Botha (ankle), flank Rynhardt Elstadt (shoulder) and flyhalf Kurt Coleman (knee) have all returned from injury, while Jaco Taute is back from compassionate leave, and all will be expected to feature at some point.

Coetzee spoke of his decision to stock his bench following the team announcement in Cape Town.

'Like I said earlier this week, we needed to marry continuity with players coming back,' said Coetzee. 'I am comfortable with the selections we have made this week and I have full confidence in each and every player in the team.'

Province got their campaign off to the perfect start with a 35-16 bonus-point win over the EP Kings. On Saturday they will be looking to open up a sizeable margin between themselves and their visitors from the north, after the Bulls were hammered 41-13 by the Golden Lions in their opening fixture.

Western Province – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Stephan Coetzee, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Subs: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Ruan Botha, 19 Rynhardt Elstadt, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Jaco Taute.

Currie Cup teams (Round 2)

Photo: Petri Oescher/Gallo Images