Pumas thrash Limpopo

The Pumas scored 14 tries to thrash the Limpopo Blue Bulls 88-0 in Polokwane on Saturday.

Winger Ashwin Scott and captain Jaco Bouwer both grabbed hat-tricks.

The Pumas now boast a perfect record from their opening five fixtures and sit a healthy five points clear at the top of the North Section standings with a play-off place virtually secured.

In Kimberley, Griquas beat the Lions 33-18 in a exciting encounter, and kept alive their hopes of a semi-final place. Jaco Nepgen, Carel Greeff and Ederies Arendse scored tries for the hosts, while the Lions could only manage two, one of them being a penalty try.

Karlo Aspeling kicked a late drop goal for SWD to snatch a dramatic 23-21 victory over the EP Kings in their South Section clash in George on Friday night. SWD were trailing 21-6 in the 59th minute, but clawed their way back into the game through converted tries from wing Alshaun Bock and replacement hooker Wayne Khan, before Aspeling nailed the last-minute drop goal.

The Sharks XV overpowered the Boland Kavaliers 43-27 in Ceres, running in five converted tries.

In other Vodacom Cup results, the Blue Bulls punished the Valke 54-7, while the Leopards and Free State XV both claimed convincing victories over the Griffons and Border respectively. Western Province humiliated Kenyan outfit Tusker Simba XV 65-29 at Newlands.


Pumas (88) Tries: Ashwin Scott (3), Jaco Bouwer (3), De Jay Terblanche (2), Dewald Pretorius, Doppies le Roux, Hennie Skorbinski, Johan Pretorius, Pule Sibiya, Bernardo Botha. Conversions: Justin van Staden (5), Johan Pretorius (3), Bernardo Botha.
Limpopo (0)

Griquas (33) Tries: Jaco Nepgen, Carel Greeff, Ederies Arendse. Conversions: Gouws Prinsloo (3). Penalties: Gouws Prinsloo (4).
Golden Lions (18) – Tries: Penalty try, Stephan de Witt. Conversions: Willie du Plessis. Penalties: Du Plessis (2).

Blue Bulls (54) – Tries: Waylon Murray, Sampie Mastriet (2), Wimpie van der Walt (2), Tian Schoeman, Ryan Nell. Conversions: Schoeman (5). Penalties: Schoeman (3).
Valke (7) – Try: Devlin Hope. Conversion: Cecil Dumond.

Griffons (15) – Tries: AJ le Roux, Japie Nel. Conversion: Franna du Toit. Penalty: Du Toit.
Leopards  XV (35) – Tries: Stairs Mhlongo, George Tossel, Malan van der Merwe, Armandt Liebenberg, Rowayne Beukman. Conversions: Gerhard Nortier (4), George Tossel.


SWD (23) – Tries: Alshaun Bock, Wayne Khan. Conversions: Karlo Aspeling (2). Penalties: Aspeling (2). Drop goal. Aspeling.
EP Kings (21) – Tries: Ivan-John Du Preez, Ntabeni Dukisa. Conversion: Masixole Banda. Penalties: Banda (3).

Free State XV (54) Tries: Luke Cyster, Neil Claassen, Nicolaas Lee, Peet Coetzee (2), Riaan Smit, Wayven Smith (2). Conversions:
Riaan Smit (7).
Border (17) – Tries: Lundi Ralarala, Sipho Nofemele, Wandile Putuma. Conversion: Oliver Zono.

Western Province (65) – Tries: Carel du Preez (2), Christo van Wyk, Devon Williams (4), Johnny Kotze, Rohan Kitshoff (3). Conversions:
Kurt Coleman (3), Gary van Aswegen (3).
Tusker Simba XV (29) – Tries: Fabian Ogutu, Joshua Chisanga, Tony Opondo (2). Conversions: Kenny Andola (3). Penalty: Andola.

Sharks XV (43) – Tries: Jaco van Tonder, Johan Meyer, Keegan Daniel (2), Sizo Maseko, Tim Swiel. Conversions: Swiel (5). Penalty: Swiel.
Boland Kavaliers (27) – Tries: Arno Fortuin (2), Danwel Demas. Conversions: Eric Zana (2), Christian Rust. Penalties: Zana (2).

Photo: Duif du Toit/Gallo Images