Racing shock Jake’s Montpellier

Racing 92 scored three tries to one to upset Montpellier 22-13 on Saturday and advance to the Top 14 semi-finals.

Toulon earned their place in the final four when they defeated Castres 26-22 at the Stade Mayol on Friday, with La Rochelle and Clermont having already booked their semi-final spots.

Racing led 14-10 at half-time after tries by Leone Nakarawa and late replacement Teddy Thomas, but soon after the break, Montpellier lost Frans Steyn to a yellow card.

Although Jake White’s charges were next to score when a second Demetri Catrakilis penalty cut the gap to one, former All Blacks wing Joe Rokocoko scored in the 75th minute to effectively seal the result.

Matters went from bad to worse for Montpellier when Jannie du Plessis was shown a red card late in the game for punching Bernard le Roux.

Former All Blacks flyhalf Dan Carter converted the resulting penalty to add the finishing touches to Racing’s win, while bringing a disappointing end to White’s time at the helm of Montpellier.

Montpellier – Try: Benoit Paillaugue. Conversion: Willie du Plessis. Penalties: Demetri Catrakilis (2).
Racing 92 – Tries: Leone Nakarawa, Teddy Thomas, Joe Rokocoko. Conversions: Dan Carter (2). Penalty: Carter.
Montpellier – 15 Joffrey Michel, 14 Timoci Nagusa, 13 Henry Immelman, 12 François Steyn, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Benoit Paillaugue, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Kélian Galletier, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Paul Willemse, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Antoine Guillamon, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Gregory Fichten.
Subs: 16 Charles Géli, 17 Mikheil Nariashvili, 18 Konstantin Mikautadze, 19 Akapusi Qera, 20 Nic White, 21 Duhan van der Merwe, 22 Demetri Catrakilis, 23 Jannie du Plessis.

Racing 92 – 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Casey Laulala, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Chris Masoe, 7 Bernard le Roux, 6 Yannick Nyanga, 5 Leone Nakarawa, 4 Gerbrandt Grobler, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Virgile Lacombe, 1 Viliamu Afatia
Subs: 16 Camille Chat, 17 Eddy Ben Arous, 18 Manuel Carizza, 19 Antonie Claassen, 20 James Hart, 21 Rémi Talès, 22 Teddy Thomas, 23 Luc Ducalcon
Photo: Pascal Guyot/AFP/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis