Retallick, Savea commit to All Blacks

Brodie Retallick and Julian Savea have signed deals that will keep them with the All Blacks through to the 2019 World Cup.

World Rugby Player of the Year Retallick and fellow nominee Savea made their Test debuts alongside each other in 2012 and are the first players to re-sign with the NZRU and their respective Vodacom Super Rugby franchises on four-year deals.

NZRU CEO Steve Tew described their signatures as 'very significant' as the country looks to hold onto key All Blacks in the face of strong interest from abroad.

'Brodie and Julian represent a big part of the future for us and we are delighted to have them sign for four more years,' Tew said in a press release. 'We know our players have choices, so to have them commit long-term to New Zealand rugby is very pleasing, and I want to thank them both for their commitment to New Zealand.

'It's an exciting period for rugby in this country and they will now be part of some very important events, including the revamped Super Rugby competition from next year, the British & Irish Lions Tour in 2017 and World Cup 2019.'

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen was equally pleased with the outcome.

'It's fantastic news to have both Brodie and Julian re-sign through until 2019 and I'm sure all New Zealand rugby fans will join us in applauding their decision,' he said. 'Even though they are still relatively young, they are now very experienced rugby players. They are also very valuable team members who are both world-leading players.'

Savea and Retallick join a raft of current All Blacks who have re-signed beyond this year, including Jerome Kaino (2018), Kieran Read, Owen Franks, Sam Whitelock, Cory Jane, Israel Dagg, Aaron Cruden, Ben Smith, Charlie Faumuina, Steven Luatua and Malakai Fekitoa (2017) and Dane Coles, Sonny Bill Williams, Aaron Smith, Beauden Barrett, Luke Romano, TJ Perenara, Dominic Bird and Patrick Tuipulotu (2016).

Photo: Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images