SA bids for 2023 World Cup

SA bids for 2023 World Cup

France, Ireland, Italy and South Africa have submitted their bid applications to host the 2023 World Cup.

During the applicant phase, the first phase of the process, interested unions were provided with the criteria for evaluation. The criteria are based on World Rugby's seven priority objectives for the 2023 World Cup, which are:

– Venues and infrastructure commensurate with a top-tier major event
– Comprehensive and enforceable public and private sector guarantees
– A commercially successful event with a fully funded, robust financial model
– Operational excellence through an integrated and experienced delivery team
– A vision that engages and inspires domestic and international audiences and contributes to the growth of rugby at all levels
– An enabling environment of political and financial stability that respects the diversity of the World Cup's global stakeholders
– An environment and climate suited to top-level sport in a geography that allows maximum fan mobility
– As part of their submission, the unions are also required to supply World Rugby with an overview of key tournament deliverables such as finance, venues and intended government support.

The applicant submissions will now be evaluated by a World Rugby Technical Review Group. The outcomes of the evaluation will be independently assessed to ensure a fair and consistent approach. Applicants that meet the criteria outlined will move to the candidate phase on 1 November 2016.

The 2023 World Cup host will be selected in November 2017.

Photo: Dan Mullan/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt