Alexander to succeed Hoskins

Mark Alexander will be elected as the new president of SA Rugby at a general council meeting on Thursday.

Alexander is the current deputy president, but was appointed acting president after the resignation of his predecessor, Oregan Hoskins, last month. In a statement, the governing body confirmed Alexander's nomination was unopposed. 

Two candidates, Francois Davids (executive council member) and Thelo Wakefield (Western Province president), will vie for the deputy presidency. 

If Davids is elected as deputy president, Wakefield, Schalk Liebenberg (KwaZulu-Natal), Vivian Lottering (Valke) and Jan Marais (Griffons) will go head to head for his vacant position on the executive council.

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images 

Post by

Mariette Adams