SA Team of the Week (Round 12)

CRAIG LEWIS picks a form South African XV based on performances in round 12 of Super Rugby.

The Lions secured an eighth successive win of the season as they edged the Brumbies last Friday, but it really was the Kings that stood out as the surprise performers once again this past weekend.

Lionel Cronjé contributed 20 points as the Kings clinched a famous 35-32 win over the Sharks, but it was late wing replacement Alshaun Bock who stole the show as he scored two tries, while making as many as 121m on attack.

After producing arguably their most complete all-round performance of the season, the Kings are rewarded with seven players in this round 12 team of the week, while four Lions players are included after last year's runners-up produced a massive defensive effort against the Brumbies.

READ: Super Rugby Power Rankings (Round 12)

Unfortunately, the Bulls and Cheetahs disappointed in losing causes, but centre Burger Odendaal was the one standout performer for the Pretoria-based side (making 61m and completing seven tackles), while Torsten van Jaarsveld defended like a Trojan for the Cheetahs (making 16 tackles and missing just one).

Despite the Sharks' failure to close out the game against the Kings, Lukhanyo Am (81m made) and Lwazi Mvovo (49m made and six tackles completed), were two of the gallant performers from the Durban-based side.

Among the forwards, Warren Whiteley impressed on defence for the Kings, while Kwagga Smith was industrious as ever and scored a superb solo try, but it was Tyler Paul who emerged as a surprise package at blindside flank for the Kings.

Lions locks Franco Mostert and Andries Ferreira completed impressive all-round performances against the Brumbies (28 tackles completed between them), while the Kings props are rewarded for their dominance at scrum time.

15. Masixole Banda (Kings)
14. Alshaun Bock (Kings)
13. Lukhanyo Am (Sharks)
12. Burger Odendaal (Bulls) 
11. Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks)
10. Lionel Cronjé (Kings)
9. Louis Schreuder (Kings)
8. Warren Whiteley (Lions)
7. Tyler Paul (Kings)
6. Kwagga Smith (Lions)
5. Franco Mostert (Lions)
4. Andries Ferreira (Lions)
3. Ross Geldenhuys (Kings)
2. Torsten van Jaarsveld (Cheetahs)
1. Schalk van der Merwe (Kings)
*The Stormers had a bye in round 12

15. Andries Coetzee (Lions)
14. Sylvian Mahuza (Lions)
13. Lukhanyo Am (Sharks)
12. Harold Vorster (Lions)  
11. Courtnall Skosan (Lions)
10. Curwin Bosch (Sharks)
9. Ross Cronje (Lions)
8. Daniel du Preez (Sharks)
7. Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks)
6. Phillip van der Walt (Sharks)
5. Franco Mostert (Lions)
4. Jan de Klerk (Stormers)
3. Coenie Oosthuizen (Sharks) 
2. Malcolm Marx (Lions)
1. Jacques van Rooyen (Lions)
*The Kings had a bye in round 11

Photo: Mark Nolan/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis