Saffas dominate Baa-Baas lineup

Five South Africans will start for the Barbarians against Ireland at Thomond Park on Thursday.

They are Lyon hooker Deon Fourie, Toulon flank Gerhard Vosloo, Ulster scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar, Montpellier centre Wynand Olivier and Leinster fullback Zane Kirchner.

Grenoble utility back Gio Aplon is on the bench.

The Barbarians will be captained by Leinster flank Shane Jennings and coached by Robbie Deans.

The famous invitation club is celebrating its 125th anniversary this year.

Barbarians – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Joe Rokocoko, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 David Smith, 10 James Gopperth, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Ryu Koliniasi Holani, 7 Gerhard Vosloo, 6 Shane Jennings (c), 5 Konstantin Mikautadze, 4 Rodrigo Capo Ortega, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Roberto Tejerizo.
Subs: 16 David Ward, 17 Saimone Taumoepeau, 18 Matias Diaz, 19 George Whitelock, 20 George Smith, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Tusi Pisi, 23 Gio Aplon.

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt