Same again for Province

Coach John Dobson has named an unchanged starting lineup for Western Province's Currie Cup clash against the Free State Cheetahs at Newlands on Saturday.

After last weekend’s impressive win over Griquas, Dobson has retained faith in the run-on XV, although lock Jan de Klerk and back Kobus van Wyk come on to the bench.

De Klerk replaces Chris van Zyl in a rotational switch, while Van Wyk comes in for Johnny Kotze, who took a bang to his head at training on Monday.

‘We have a plan in terms of game time for certain players moving forward,’ Dobson said. ‘But, at the same time, we need some continuity in our team and performances, so we have retained the same starting lineup from last week with just those two changes on the bench.’

Western Province – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.
Subs: 16 Marius Fourie, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Jan de Klerk, 19 Chris Cloete, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Kobus van Wyk, 23 Charlie van Jaarsveld.

Photo: Carl Fourie/Gallo Images

Post by

Craig Lewis