Sanzar: Officials got try call wrong

Sanzar referee manager Lyndon Bray says the decision to award Coenie van Wyk a try in the match between the Lions and Blues was incorrect.

The Lions edged the Blues 39-36 at Ellis Park last Saturday. However, the result may have gone the Blues' way if the Lions weren't awarded a controversial try in the second half.

Lions centre Deon van Rensburg was tackled by Blues wing Charles Piutau, and the ball spilled forward over the tryline. Van Wyk dived on the ball, and after referee Stuart Berry consulted with TMO Johan Greef, it was decided that the try would stand.

Bray has since reviewed the incident, and believes the Lions should not have been awarded the try.

'Lions No 13 is carrying the ball and about to attempt to score a try. Blues No 11 effects a tackle and Lions No 13 loses possession as a result,' Bray said.

'While the Blues player does jolt the ball out of his possession, he is not trying to deliberately “rip the ball” out of the player's possession. The onus is on the ball carrier to maintain possession while being tackled. Therefore, this should have been ruled as a knock on and subsequently no try.'

Post by