Scotland demolish hapless Samoa

Scotland banked their first win of the World Cup after breezing past Samoa 34-0 in their Pool A clash at the Kobe Misaki Stadium on Monday.

The Scots kept their hopes of a place in the last eight alive with this commanding win as they bounced back in style from their opening 27-3 defeat by Ireland.

The boot of Greig Laidlaw opened the scoring early on as the Scots asserted themselves despite the standard stern physical test offered up by Samoa. 

As many as three cross kicks were involved in the Scots’ opening try, after which Sean Maitland collected an accurate kick from Finn Russell and did the necessary with 30 minutes played. Laidlaw was at it again as he brushed off a number of tackles to score his side’s second before a drop goal from fullback Stuart Hogg sent Scotland 20 points clear at the break.

The second half was a forgettable affair as Samoa offered little in the form of attack, while unforced errors continued to hamper Scotland’s march towards the bonus-point win.

That was ticked off by two penalty tries, with the second coming in the 76th minute. To make matters worse Samoa wing Ed Fidow also received his second yellow card, leaving his side to play out the contest with 14 men.

The numerical disadvantage hindered the islanders’ desperate attempt to put some points on the board as they found some territory and possession, albeit far too little too late.

Scotland, meanwhile, will have a bounce to their step as they look to take full advantage of Ireland’s shock loss throwing the pool wide open.

Scotland – Tries: Sean Maitland, Greig Laidlaw, penalty try (2). Conversions: Laidlaw (2). Penalty: Laidlaw. Drop goal: Stuart Hogg.

Samoa – Red card: Ed Fidow.

Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Jamie Ritchie, 6 Magnus Bradbury, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 WP Nel, 2 Stuart McInally (c), 1 Allan Dell.
Subs: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Scott Cummings, 20 Ryan Wilson, 21 George Horne, 22 Adam Hastings, 23 Duncan Taylor.

Samoa – 15 Tim Nanai-Williams, 14 Belgium Tuatagaloa, 13 Alapati Leiua, 12 Henry Taefu, 11 Ed Fidow, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Melani Matavao, 8 Jack Lam (c), 7 TJ Ioane, 6 Chris Vui, 5 Kane Le’aupepe, 4 Teofilo Paulo, 3 Michael Alaalatoa, 2 Ray Niuia, 1 Logovii Mulipola.
Subs: 16 Seilala Lam, 17 Paul Alo-Emile, 18 Jordan Lay, 19 Piula Faasalele, 20 Josh Tyrell, 21 Pele Cowley, 22 Ulupano Seuteni, 23 Kieron Fonotia.

Photo: Getty Images 

Post by