Scotland see off Los Pumas

Scotland claimed a comfortable 41-31 victory over Argentina at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Still confident after their first Rugby Championship win over Australia, Argentina got off to a flying start against Vern Cotter's men, scoring a try in the first minute of the game through flank Javier Orgeta Desio, who scooped up a loose ball before running 60m to dot down. 

What followed thereafter, was pure domination by the Scots. First Richie Gray scored, with captain Greig Laidlaw converting, before Nicolás Sánchez converted a penalty. 

Jonny Gray and Sean Maitland scored in quick succession and the skipper booted both conversions and a further penalty for a 24-10 lead when they returned to the sheds.

Argentina conceded a demoralising scrum penalty early in the second half and things went downhill from there. Fullback Stuart Hogg and wing Tommy Seymour scored either side of a deserved Argentina penalty try to take the hosts over the 40-point mark.

By then Tomás Cubelli had come off the bench for Argentina, but despite two late tries from the lively scrumhalf, Argentina had conceded just too many points for any significant hopes of a comeback.

Scotland – Tries: Richie Gray, Jonny Gray, Sean Maitland, Stuart Hogg, Tommy Seymour. Conversions: Greig Laidlaw (4), Duncan Weir. Penalties: Laidlaw (2).
Argentina – Tries: Javier Ortega Desio, Tomás Cubelli (2), penalty try. Conversions: Juan Martín Hernández (3), Nicolás Sánchez. Penalty: Sánchez.

Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Alex Dunbar, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 Adam Ashe, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Subs: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Alasdair Strokosch, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Sean Lamont.

Argentina – 15 Joacquín Tuculet, 14 Juan Imhoff, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Javier Ortega Desio, 6 Rodrigo Báez, 5 Juan Cruz Guillemaín, 4 Tomás Lavanini, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Lucas Ponce, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Santiago González Iglesias, 23 Horacio Agulla.

Photo: Mark Runnacles /Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams