Scots leave it late against Pumas

Duncan Weir kicked a penalty in the 79th minute to give Scotland a dramatic 21-19 win over Argentina in Córdoba.

With both teams missing a number of their regular starters, the match was a somewhat disjointed affair with neither team really gaining any ascendancy.

Scotland were quick out of the blocks, opening the scoring in the seventh minute after Tommy Seymour was allowed free reign on the left touchline before offloading inside for Stuart Hogg to go over.

The Argentinians responded with a try of their own and some try it was. Gathering the ball deep in their own half, they moved the ball the length of the field for an end-to-end try.

Nicolás Sánchez then added a drop goal as the Pumas went into the break with a slender 8-7 lead.

They would extend that lead through two Sánchez penalties either side of one from Duncan Weir at the start of the second half. Substitute Joaquín Tuculet then showed great feet to go over for his second try in as many matches as the Pumas moved clear by two scores.

Scotland would cut the deficit to six points, before a try from substitute scrumhalf Henry Pyrgos set up a frenetic final five minutes.

Duncan Weir would miss the conversion to give the Scots the lead, but he'd make no mistake after his team earned a penalty with just a minute to go.

They failed to secure the kick-off, giving Argentina one last chance to snatch victory after the hooter. Sánchez dropped into the pocket but he pulled his drop goal attempt as the Scots secured their fourth consecutive win on Argentinian soil.

Argentina – Tries: Javier Ortega Desio, Joaquín Tuculet. Penalties: Nicolás Sánchez (2). Drop goals: Nicolás Sánchez.
Scotland – Tries: Stuart Hogg, Henry Pyrgos. Conversion: Duncan Weir. Penalties: Weir (3).

Argentina – 15 Lucas González Amorosino, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Santiago González Iglesias, 11 Manuel Montero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Tomás Cubelli (c), 8 Tomás De la Vega, 7 Javier Ortega Desio, 6 Rodrigo Báez, 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Matías Díaz, 2 Julián Montoya, 1 Bruno Postiglioni.
Subs: 16 Santiago Iglesias Valdez, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Tomás Lavanini, 20 Antonio Ahualli de Chazal, 21 Martín Landajo, 22 Matías Moroni, 23 Joaquín Tuculet.

Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Peter Horne, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Grayson Hart, 8 Kieran Low, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Grant Gilchrist (c), 4 Jonny Gray, 3 Geoff Cross, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Al Dickinson.
Subs: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Jon Welsh, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Chris Fusaro, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Tom Heathcote, 23 Dougie Fife.

Photos: Diego Lima/AFP Photo