Scots short on experience

Scotland coach Vern Cotter has named an inexperienced squad of 25 for the match against the Springboks in Port Elizabeth on 28 June.

Cotter, who has only recently taken the reins, has taken the decision to name two squads, one for their matches against USA and Canada, and another for the matches against Argentina and South Africa.

The latter includes three uncapped players and nine with fewer than five appearances for the national side.

The game against the Springboks at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium falls outside of the IRB international window, and as such the squad is heavily weighted with players from Glasgow and Edinburgh, who are directly under control of Scottish Rugby.

Therefore players like captain Kelly Brown, Jim Hamilton, Sean Lamont and Greig Laidlaw won't be making the trip south of the equator.

Scotland squad (with number of caps)

Forwards: Kevin Bryce (uncapped), Geoff Cross (28), David Denton (22), Alasdair Dickinson (34) Ross Ford (75), Chris Fusaro (2), Grant Gilchrist (4), Jonny Gray (3), Rob Harley (4), Moray Low (26), Pat MacArthur (4) Gordon Reid (uncapped), Tim Swinson (7), Jon Welsh (2).

Backs: Alex Dunbar (8), Dougie Fife (1), Grayson Hart (uncapped); Stuart Hogg (20), Peter Horne (2), Ruaridh Jackson (23), Sean Maitland (9), Peter Murchie (2), Henry Pyrgos (10), Tommy Seymour (8), Duncan Weir (13).

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images