Senatla to wing it for WP

Four Springbok Sevens players have been released to play in this year's Currie Cup.

Seabelo Senatla (wing) will turn out for the defending champions, Western Province, while Kwagga Smith (flank) has returned to the Golden Lions.

Ruhan Nel and Sandile Ngcobo (centres) will be in action for Griquas, who recently secured their spot in the Premier Division after winning the Qualifier competition.

Two of Ngcobo’s SA Sevens Academy teammates, Lungelo Gosa and Sibahle Maxwane, have joined the U21 teams of the Golden Lions and Western Province respectively.

Saru also announced that the Blitzboks will play in two pre-season tournaments as they prepare for a historic campaign which includes a bigger, revamped World Rugby Sevens Series and the 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil.

The South Africans will contest the 2015 Safland Sevens taking place on 25 and 26 September in Windhoek, Namibia, before travelling to Singapore a month later to participate in the 68th edition of the hugely popular Singapore Cricket Club Sevens event.

The players have assembled at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport to start their pre-season training programme following their end-of-season break.

Photo: Petri Oescher/Gallo Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt