Sexton returns to bolster Ireland

Johnny Sexton will take his place at flyhalf for Ireland's Test against the All Blacks in Chicago on Saturday.

Sexton missed Ireland's three-Test tour of South Africa in June due to injury, but returns to the starting lineup where he will be partnered by scrumhalf Conor Murray.

Rob Kearney has also overcome his hamstring injury to take up position at fullback.

CJ Stander starts at blindside flank, with Jordi Murphy at openside and Jamie Heaslip at No 8.

Hooker Rory Best retains the captaincy.

Ireland – 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Jack McGrath.
Subs: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Josh van der Flier, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Garry Ringrose.

Photo: Paul Gilham/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams